The Armstrong Primary are McCloy Cup Champions

The Armstrong Primary School girls' hockey team was crowned Northern Ireland champions and McCloy Cup winners at Stormont on 18 April.


In total 185 teams from across Northern Ireland had participated at the qualifying stages of the tournament with 24 teams involved in finals day.

The Armstrong Primary team emerged undefeated from the group stages, where a semi-final win over Waringstown Primary School took them to the cup final.

After closely contested match against Seagoe Primary School, The Armstrong team brought the McCloy Cup back to Armagh for the first time since 2005.

Principal David Dickson said

We are very proud of the girls and their achievements this season.

They have demonstrated tremendous enthusiasm and commitment and have been wonderful representatives of The Armstrong.

Great credit must go to our girls' hockey coaches, Mr Forbes and Mrs Poots, who have worked with the girls throughout this season to remember!

The Armstrong Primary School girls' hockey team


20 April 2018