Board of Directors

The Directors, representing schools, those from a public appointments process and the Transferor Representatives’ Council Council members will serve for four years. There are six representatives from controlled schools. This includes representatives for each phase: nursery, special, primary, secondary and grammar schools. 

  • Mark Orr

    Mr Mark Orr QC


    Mark Orr is a practising barrister and a Queen’s Counsel, specialising in contract, commercial, property, trust and tax law.

    Mark is chairperson of the Board of Governors of Banbridge Academy and is former governor of Dromore Central Primary School.

  • Andre Broan

    Dr Andrew Brown


    Presbyterian Church in Ireland / Read more about Transferor Representatives’ Council

    Andy Brown is a Principal Lecturer in Teacher Education, Academic Head of Arts and Humanities, a member of the Academic Leadership Team, and Head of the BEd Primary degree at Stranmillis University College.

    Andy has wide experience of strategic leadership and policy work for various education bodies and trade unions.

  • Mr John Anderson

    Mr John Anderson

    John Anderson is a Visiting Professor of Education at Ulster University having recently retired after 35 years with the Education and Training Inspectorate.

    John is the Independent Chair of the Education Network (NI) Innovation Forum and, as an educational researcher and consultant, is leading several research projects in Europe and the Middle East.

  • Emma Corry

    Mrs Emma Corry

    Principal, Ballyclare Nursery School

    Emma Corry has held a number of roles during her career which have provided her with wide ranging experience of working in many different sectors and settings, both in schools and in other roles within education. This included working as an Early Years advisor in London and in a seconded role for the National Association of Head Teachers (NAHT) as Policy Director.

    Emma currently sits on the Nursery Principals' Committee NI Regional Executive Committee and the National Early Years Sector Council for the NAHT.

  • Mrs Catherine Chambers

    Mrs Catherine Chambers

    Catherine Chambers has been a solicitor for over 20 years. A partner in private practice and subsequently a solicitor working in the Education Authority with specialist educational law experience.

    Catherine is a mum of four school age children.

  • Mrs Gillian Dunlop

    Mrs Gillian Dunlop

    Principal, Largymore Primary School 

    Gillian Dunlop has worked in six different controlled primary schools. She holds positions with GTCNI and the Ulster Teachers’ Union. 

    Gillian will work to ensure that the Council’s relationship with schools is open, transparent and honest, and in the best interests of children and young people. 

    Primary schools can contact Gillian here

  • Dr Peter Hamill

    Dr Peter Hamill

    Church of Ireland / Transferor Representatives’ Council

    Peter Hamill is the Secretary to the Church of Ireland Board of Education (NI). He is a qualified teacher and vocational trainer with a PhD (University of Warwick) in the field of education.

    He has worked in the area of training and development for a number of organisations, including the Diocese of Connor, the former Education & Library Boards and the Northern Ireland Council for Voluntary Action.

  • Ms Paula Leitch

    Ms Paula Leitch

    Paula Leitch is a retired Assistant Principal and former school Governor for Belfast Model School for Girls. Paula is also a former member of Belfast Education and Library Board.

    Paula is a member of the Council for the Curriculum Examinations and Assessment.

  • Roz McFeeters

    Mrs Roz McFeeters

    Principal, Hill Croft School

    Roz McFeeters has 25 years’ experience working across nursery, primary and special sectors. 

    Roz is a passionate advocate for children and young people with additional needs in all sectors of education and works collaboratively with families, communities, statutory and voluntary agencies to bring about the best outcomes for their children.  

  • Mr Darren Mornin

    Mr Darren Mornin

    Principal, Limavady High School

    Darren Mornin has extensive experience working strategically in collaboration with a range of statutory and voluntary agencies. His strong ethos is underpinned by the aspiration that every child has the opportunity to fulfil their potential.   

    Darren is passionate about supporting all controlled schools to enhance the teaching and learning within each school. He will also work hard to advocate for significant funding to improve the physical resources within our sector.

  • Mrs Heather Murray

    Mrs Heather Murray

    Principal, Millington Primary School

    Heather Murray has experience of both the primary and nursery sectors, having taught and led in a variety of settings from, small rural to large urban schools.

    Heather was one of the first interim directors of the Controlled Schools’ Support Council. 

  • Mr Trevor Robinson

    Mr Trevor Robinson

    Headmaster, Lurgan College

    Trevor Robinson has extensive experience of strategic school leadership and has worked in collaboration with a range of statutory and voluntary agencies.  His vision and values are underpinned by the aspiration that all young people fulfil their intellectual, social, moral and spiritual potential. 

    Trevor is a former Chairman of the Association of Controlled Grammar Schools and is currently President of the Association of School and College Leaders (NI). He also serves as an Associate Assessor with ETI. 

    Grammar schools can contact Trevor Robinson here.

  • Mr Kenneth Twyble

    Mr Kenneth Twyble

    Methodist Church in Ireland / Transferor Representatives’ Council

    Ken Twyble is retired vice-principal of Killicomaine Junior High School and current chairperson to the Board of Governors at Bocombra and Orchard County Primary School. 

    He is the past Lay Leader of the Methodist Church in Ireland and currently a member of several Church committees.

CSSC Annual General Meetings

The inaugural AGM of the Controlled Schools’ Support Council on 8 March 2017 saw the election of its Board of Directors.

The second CSSC AGM took place at The Armstrong Primary School, Armagh. Read about AGM 2018 here.

The third CSSC AGM took place at Dunsilly Hotel, Antrim in May 2019. Read about AGM 2019 here.

The fourth CSSC AGM took place online on 19 November 2020. Read about AGM 2020 here.

The fifth CSSC AGM took place online on 18 November 2021. Read about AGM 2021 here.